Trisha Yearwood: Idol

Trisha Yearwood.

Trisha Yearwood.

My first album, with a boom box, for my eighth birthday.

I grew up listening to Country music, singing Country music, and wanting to be a Country singer… all because of people like Trisha Yearwood. I felt so grown up that year… rocking my new boom box and first CD, blasting “She’s in Love with the Boy” nearly sixteen times a day, until I was able to save my allowance enough to buy more CDs.

Seeing Trisha in concert was always a dream of mine, and a couple of years ago, my mom and I got to see Garth Brooks and Trisha Yearwood live at the Wells Fargo Center. It was absolutely incredible. The only thing missing was enough time in Trisha’s set.

Well, recently, my mom and I got to see Trisha again, and she was just as amazing as I remember. She sang several hits and a few new songs, with a cover or two sprinkled in. Trisha definitely lived up to my expectations, and “She’s in Love with the Boy” is just as good as it was when I first heard it, decades later.

Trisha: singer, wife, bonus mom, cook, tv hostess, idol.

Leave a comment