Re-Entry Anxiety

I’ve been trying to write this post for a while, but I didn’t think anyone would understand. The World is starting to open up as more and more vaccines get distributed, and while most people around me seem to be excited and relieved, I’ve been feeling anxious. I’ve been feeling kind of lost.

Like everyone else, when the World shut down last March, we shut down with it. When PA moved into the “yellow” phase last June, we were ecstatic to see our friends and family. We were careful with who we saw, what we did, and we quarantined before and after seeing various groups to be as sure as we could be that we weren’t passing anything on.

In November, cases were skyrocketing once again, and Don and I decided to quarantine ourselves (again). We didn’t see anyone for Thanksgiving, we had a very limited masked and socially distanced Christmas with just my mom and brother. We missed birthdays, celebrations, random hangout nights – all of it.

And while I have missed events, people…life, I’m also nervous about getting back to “normal life.”

Seeing this article helped me relax just a bit: Ease of COVID restrictions causing ‘re-entry anxiety’ for some: Experts – 6abc Philadelphia

It helped me know that I’m not alone in this fear, in this anxiety. It’s okay for me to take it a step at a time. It’s okay for me to say yes to some things and no to others. It’s okay for me to not feel okay about getting back to “normal” right now. It’s okay for me to take it at my own pace.

We’re all navigating this for the first time. There is no roadmap, no “right thing” to do.

Do you have re-entry anxiety? I’d love for you to share how you’re feeling in the comments.

Leave a comment